LMRE to hold 79th annual business meeting

The Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperative annual meeting and family fun day will be held Tuesday, July 21 at the Lorain County Fairgrounds in Wellington.

This is the second year the family fun day has been added to the cooperative’s annual meeting format. Children’s games, bounce houses, interactive kiosks from the Center of Science and Industry, and a pony ride will be featured from 1-6 p.m. There will also be wellness displays and member businesses displays. A dinner will be served from 4-6 p.m. and a business meeting will be held at 6 p.m.

The event is open to cooperative members and their families. Registration will open at 1 p.m. All children will be issued a wrist band upon registration in order to participate in youth activities.

The 79th annual business meeting will feature reports from Lorain-Medina General Manager Markus Bryant and Board President Rodney “John” Eaton.

It will also include a presentation of results from LMRE elections. No candidates are opposed.

In District 2, Jim McConnell of Pittsfield Township has been on the board since 1997. He serves as the board’s secretary. District 2 includes Camden, Henrietta, New Russia, and Pittsfield townships in Lorain County and the few members who reside in Florence Township in Erie County.

Judy Pickworth will begin her 10th year on the board representing LaGrange Township, which makes up District 5.

District 8 is served by Keith Lowe of Homer Township. He has been on the board since 1997 and serves as the board’s treasurer. District 8 includes Homer and Spencer townships, plus the village of Spencer in Medina County and Canaan and Congress townships in Wayne County, plus the village of Burbank.

Lorain-Medina Rural Electric Cooperatives serves more than 16,000 members and maintains 1,528 miles of line in Lorain, Medina Ashland, Huron, and Wayne counties.

Also included will be discussion of the Environmental Protection Agency’s proposed greenhouse gas rules and the impact they will have on cooperative members.